The Count of Monte Cristo

Ask me what my favourite book is and I’ll tell you it’s a tie between Gone With The Wind and The Count of Monte Cristo.

But, truly, I think The Count is my favourite. Every year I read this book. I cannot explain why I get the urge. It comes anywhere from February to April and I NEED to read it. It’s not a passing thought, like, “Oh, it would be nice to read such and such.”
No no. It’s a need. I can’t explain why so don’t ask.
I’m also the world’s pickiest Ending reader. 99% of books have the cheesiest, most obvious, or most disappointing endings. I think it’s the reason I’ve delayed finishing my own book for so long – for fear that mine will be equally as shitty.

The Count, though, is perfect in every aspect. M. Dumas didn’t drone on like some writers. He wove this beautiful, angry, deep soul of a character who ruins peoples lives in order to exact revenge on the three people who put him in jail and yes, he feels remorse at one point (poor Valentine et Maximilian!) but at no point does the reader think, “Dude. Little too far there.” Nope, you pretty much cheer Edmond on while he ruins the lives of countless people, becoming an accessory to his plot and their ruin.
And every time, I am a sucker. I have read this beloved book (so often that I ruined my copy – it’s taped together) perhaps 10 times in as many years and each time I secretly worry that he won’t find the treasure.
Idiot. Of COURSE he’s going to find the treasure!!

And the ending. The ending is perfect. Though I still think Edmond should run away with Mercedes, alas…

However, I am in the middle of reading Wild by CHeryl Strayed and then after that it’s Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. I have a few more books on hold that I’m eagerly awaiting.
The Fault In Our Stars
The Book Thief
A Long Way Down

So there you have it. It’s almost time to seek revenge with The Count and I can’t wait!

What are your favourite books? What are you reading right now?

Leave a Reply

